A Note for the General

There is no place like home, you often say
That is why we must safeguard our fort
Enemies abound outside. Trust no one else.
They will try to deceive you. Hold your ground.

Listen to me. I have been to many battles before.
I know what is best. Under my command, we will
survive this war.

You taught me to overcome my fear
of darkness. When you noticed that I hid
under the covers of my blanket
you pulled me right out, and told me:
Fear roots from not knowing. Open
your eyes and see: There are no monsters here.

Open my eyes and see: There are no monsters here.
Open my eyes and see: There are no monsters here.
Open my eyes and see: There are no monsters here.

Darkness becomes a friend, once you get used to it
And soon enough, I no longer needed my blanket
over my head. You were right, there were
no monsters here.

Sir, there is a situation we must address
I saw you in the dark. I was there
when you lost your temper and hit her.
I never told anyone but I have never forgotten.

All this time I have been wide awake
I pretended to sleep and not to see
I still see a glimpse of you even in broad daylight
In the shadows, lurking, ready to strike

Sir, there is a situation we must address
I don’t feel safe here in our own fort
There is a reason why I don’t look you in the eye
There is a reason why I choose to lie
There is a reason why I keep mum
Silence is safe, and safety is
what we need in a time of war.

Leave a Reply

