The Perfect Match

“I asked a girl out once,” he began. “And she retorted, ‘How the hell are you going to take me out if you don’t have a car?’”

“Whoa. She said that?”

“Yeah. Well, women want men who’ll buy them gifts, give them flowers, drive them to places, and take them out on fancy dates. I think it has something to do with the societal norm that men should be good providers, while women should be gracious receivers. It’s just that… I don’t have those resources now. That doesn’t stop me from trying my luck at love, does it? I just have to make do with what I have.”

“Mmm. Men want to be great providers,” she told him. “Because society dictates that they should have the upper hand. I drive my own car. I pay for my own luxuries. I do not need anyone to buy me what I want, because I have the resources to spoil myself if I want to. This makes it difficult for me to stay in a relationship.”

“What do you mean?” he asked.

“Sooner or later, boys back out on me because they become insecure. They tell me that I deserve someone better, someone more capable — whatever that means. I just want to try my luck at love, you know. It’s tiring to be overqualified, but I will never apologize for having what I have.”

Leave a Reply

