Snippet 0308

“Hey, are you all right?”

“Yes. Why wouldn’t I be?”

“You seemed distant earlier.”

“Really? In what way?”

“Well… it seemed that you’d rather talk with the rest of the group rather than talk with me.”

“That’s not true. I just had a lot of things to tell them.”

“Well… you really acted differently. For one, you didn’t lock your arm with mine while we were walking. You always do.”

“Oh, I didn’t think it mattered to you. Sorry about that. I’m not mad, I promise.”

“You know, I’d rather that you just tell me that you’re not okay than tell me you are even if you’re feeling otherwise.”

“Really, I’m okay.”

“I know you’re disappointed in me because I didn’t keep my promise. I told you I’ll help you with facilitating the class, but I backed out earlier this morning.”

“I understand that you had a lot of your plate, so when you told me you won’t be able to make it, I thought to myself, ‘Ok, so how do I deal with this?’ and decided to look for another person who could help me. I don’t want to get in the way of your work.”

“You weren’t disappointed that I backed out even though I already said yes to you last week?”

“I was, but I didn’t take it against you. I know you had deadlines to meet. I thought, ‘Oh that’s just Andre being Andre. If Andre can’t make it, then what do I do? I can’t just mope around. I’ll do something to fix the situation.’”

“I don’t want you to think that I’m the kind of person who isn’t sure about his yeses.”

“But you really are like that. Our plans never push through.”

“But I’m your boyfriend. Shouldn’t you demand things from me?”

“I can, but I don’t want to. I am okay with whatever you choose to give me.”

Leave a Reply

