Before I Die

Let us make peace
with the night:

Admit that without you
I find no purpose, and
without me you’ll be
hiding in the dark

Light me up, so I know
what it’s like to glow,
to burn for someone

Do you feel that?

The warmth refusing to be
defeated by the dark

The heat melting away
the shadows on your skin

I’ll bring you light until
you fall asleep, and tomorrow
when I am gone,

you will wake up,
not remembering
the dread of night

Note: Once in a while, I write poems from the point of view of an inanimate object. This piece is one of them. Can you guess who’s the narrator here?
Leave a Reply

