Close

And so the night comes
to an end: you pull over
in front of my house, and I
get out of your car.

Ding dong.

Ding dong.

Ding dong.

I’ve been locked out,
again. I check my watch:
it’s a little past two a.m.
Post lamps struggle to
illuminate the streets.
Their best, only
a flicker.

“Leave me now,” I tell you,
for the night is dragging,
and dark. I wait for the engine
to roar, but instead there is
a hush.

Ding dong.

Ding dong.

Ding dong.

Still, there is no answer.
“You don’t have to wait
here alone,” you tell me.

I nod, and
a door opens.


Note: I started writing this vignette sometime around April or May of this year, but only finalized it today. Sometimes, it takes a while for me to find the right words and piece them together. If this poem resonates with you, then this is for you, dear reader.
Leave a Reply

